top of page

Beating the burn-out

Work-related stress is a problem in many professions.....but teacher burn-out and stress is a really serious issue. Forty-six percent of teachers report high daily stress during the school year and turnover in teaching is about four percent higher than other professions.

About a year ago or so I was out running some errands while listening to NPR. This story, about teacher stress, came on

and it resonated with me. Since then I've pondered and researched what I could do to help lower my own personal and professional stress. Not only would this make me a better teacher, but it would help me be a better parent and spouse.

Later, I came across this short article referencing a study that stated "the cure to stress could be supporting and encouraging our coworkers more. In this study, it’s found that those who verbalize support of their coworkers had decreased levels of stress and increased job satisfaction. It turns out that giving encouragement and support was even more beneficial to individuals than receiving it."

This helped me to realize that we should never discredit the role we play in our workplace environment. Many times "workplace family" pulls together during times of loss or tragedy. It is in moments like these that the strength of my school staff is clearly evident. However, at times, we all may be very guilty of not noticing when a colleague or co-worker is struggling. It is very easy for us not to recognize their stress or anxiety. Yet a simple act of giving support can truly go a long way.....especially in decreasing my own levels of stress.

School culture definitely plays a role in teacher stress levels. At Pelham Oaks Elementary I view myself as a leader for health....not just for my students and their parents, but also for my colleagues. In the past, I've initiated and led several staff physical fitness/wellness events at my school such as weekly workouts, monthly fitness challenges, and weight loss programs. Yet, I've done very little to directly promote the mental aspect of wellness although it is just as important....if not more.

Questions to ponder:

1. As physical education teachers, should we take on the initiative of building a positive school culture to help decrease teacher stress? Why or why not?

2. What have you done to positively build school culture?

3. How do you deal with your own work-related stress?

bottom of page